Hello world!

…hmm, a bit presumptuous, don’t you think? But that was the generic heading that was generated when I created this particular blog page.  I decided to leave it. Why? Well, perhaps it will be a self-fulfilling prophecy. Hello world…here I am.

Who am I? (Oh vanity of vanities…) My name is Michael Humphrey. I am a husband and dad. I have a degree in Theology from Ambassador College. I currently work at a University in the School of Visual and Performing Arts and own a small window cleaning business. (not just for small windows. I do large windows too.)

I have written and performed poetry on stage and television, sung in a band and deejayed on a local radio station. I am the vice-president (no, not of the United States) of the Board of Trustees of my local library. I love to squander my time reading books, watching movies, and playing video games. I find great satisfaction in over-eating and sleeping in. I’d rather look busy than “be” busy. In a sluggish nutshell…I’m lazy. At least that is what I would be by nature, by choice…if I allowed myself. Instead, I’m sitting here blogging, trying a find a better use for my time. Is blogging really a better use of my time? Aren’t there dishes to do, laundry to wash, a dog to walk? Aren’t my taxes due soon, my office disorganized, and my garage disheveled. Yep, yep, and yep!

So, why write a blog? Facebook notes are fine. Tweets on Twitter are dandy. But a blog is more of an assault-essay; a war of words, a bloodbath of badinage. So this is my new ‘Nam. My PEARL of wisdom HARBOR. My glad-he-ate-her coliseum. This is where I get to creep through jungles, blow up stuff, and wrestle lions. This is my opportunity to aim for bulls eyes,  build forts, and capture the flags.

Here is what I currently have in my cross-hairs. This page is being started primarily as a site for me to promote my first novel and to share the process that the book goes through from start to finish.  But down the road I anticipate being able to sound off on art and politics, history and religion, world events and personal asides. I’m looking forward to that.

I’m not going to start off by talking about all the agonizing hours spent ripping my hair out each time a sentence was not going my way. (Besides, I’m going gray…not bald…yet!) Better, I’m going to start somewhere in the middle of this process, with the manuscript complete and submitted. (That happened on 4/19/11 and what a good day that was.)

Usually once a manuscript is complete, a writer then researches publishers and begins to send out query letters or sample chapters in hopes of hooking a big one. I had already done that and been contacted and contracted for a partial manuscript a few days before the previous Thanksgiving. (Another day that was a very good day.) I took the winter to finish the book and submitted a formatted copy in the spring. Formatted meaning that Tate Publishing had already provided me with certain guidelines (ie. font size, spacing, etc., as well as what else to include with the prose. Title page, source acknowledgment, dedication, a short author bio and the teaser for the back flap.

Below is what I sent them for the back side of the cover design. It went through some tweaking (Don’t we all?) and may go through more before it hits the shelves at Borders and eventually finds its way to Goodwill and yard sales. The first part is a summary of the series, called Seed Vision Sagas. (Yes, I’m hoping to write more books.) The second summary is just for this book itself, but did not actually make it on to the back flap in its present incarnation. The third section is what is actually on the back cover of my first novel.

>>THE SEEDVISION SAGAS

Journey through the pages of history with Kole, the unknown older brother of Cain and Abel. Witness firsthand the rest of the story as he shares his memories of meeting Noah, Jonah, David, Joseph and a young Jesus. Be astounded by the lost wisdom of the ancients that only one man can share because only one man was there…who is STILL ALIVE. Living in a town not too far away is the world’s oldest man. He has a story to tell and now he has God’s permission to tell it.

>>ALL LIVING

Four hundred years ago Kole changed his name to Al. As the first human being ever born, the forgotten first son of Adam and Eve has seen a lot. In this first book, Al’s best friend Lester learns how it all began. What were the real reasons Cain killed Abel? How did Adam and Eve react? Who did Cain marry? What were the cities like before the flood? What technology did they have? Were there really giants, dragons and dinosaurs? And most puzzling of all, how in the world did he survive the flood? Discover a world that you have never known…a world that is very much like your own.

Here is what is finalized on the book jacket backside:

“They want what they suspect I have.”

“What?”

“Life.”

The first born son of Adam and
Eve…is still alive.
He has one week to reveal his secrets to his best friend, Lester, before he
moves to the Middle East for one final divine task. But with a ruthless
secret society of shadowy evil, known as the Lightmen, closing in, time is
in desperately short supply.
In order to survive he is going to need Lester’s help. But first, Lester
needs a history lesson. With God’s permission, Al finally tells his life
as it is and once was.
As Al recounts his story to his only confidant, Lester not only learns the
secrets of his mysterious best friend, but the story behind the world’s
beginning—and in the process, he may even find faith for himself.

>So that’s it. I’ll post more on the book’s official release as the day approaches, sometime in late April, I’m hoping. Until then I will be working with a marketing team, making sure things are in place with Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble and other smaller book carriers.  It’s going to be kind of a cool process for me to experience. I’m looking forward to it.  I may have some advance copies as early as February for book signings which I’ll post here on the calendar and on FB, Twitter, Goodreads, etc. I’ll let you know because I’m sure you already have it penciled in on your calenders, you’ve taken the week off of work and saved some of your bigger fireworks from the Fourth of July just for the occasion. =)

Categories: ALL LIVING | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Erik Rosenquist

    Reading is one of my least favorite pastimes, yet I am intrigued. I may actually be reading my first book in 2012 since I was 12.

  2. That’s awesome.Erik. I hope you do. To have someone who hates reading read my book would be like Brittany Spears singing Morrissey.

  3. I, too, am intrigued after reading the “back cover”… I love to read, and do , every chance I get, so will definitely look forward to the release of this book. I feel this could be really big for you Mike. I will pray for your success..I don’t remember ever seeing something with this type of subject matter..YAY!

    • Thanks for taking the time to read this Phyllis, and to leave a comment. I love the feedback and appreciate your optimistic encouragement. I remember talking to Ed Cohen about 10 years ago, when this idea first occured to me. I wish he were still around to share in the excitement of finishing the project.

  4. Andi

    I am SO EXCITED for YOU!!! You are so talented and so deserving! Love the blog!

  5. Carl Rothenbacher

    Mike, what an interesting premise for a book. I actually went to the Bible to prove to you that it was Cain who was firstborn, and wanted to suggest to you to make Kole third born, but I couldn’t find anywhere where the Bible says that Cain was actually first. So I guess you’re okay!

    • That’s awesome Carl. I have felt all along that if this novel can make people go to their Bibles to prove me wrong then it will have accomplished something wonderful. That is: making people go to their Bibles. It has always stuck with me what Mr. HWA used to say: “Blow the dust off your Bibles.” Now, I know that you are a scholar of God’s Word, so the fact that even someone who is familiar with the Bible can find something to “check in to” makes me hopeful that those less familiar will find plenty to intrigue them. I know that while writing this, I was compelled over and over to realize that I had a lot of preconceived ideas. I had to slow myself way down and think about each little thing I was reading. I know this is a book of fiction and that very little in it is “actual facts” but I tried to find those ambiguous areas and present them in a way that may be contrary to our assumptions. Thanks for taking the time to post a comment. I really appreciate it and hope to hear more from you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

